Skip to main content
Discounted
The Cool Code 2.0: The Switch Glitch

The Cool Code 2.0: The Switch Glitch

Previous price: $15.99 Current price: $13.59
Publication Date: November 14th, 2023
Publisher:
Clarion Books
ISBN:
9780358521181
Pages:
224
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days

Description

For fans of Raina Telgemeier and Kayla Miller comes the second graphic novel in the funny slice-of-life Cool Code series.

Morgan, Zoey, and Daniel discover that the popularity AI they've coded is being used to wreak mischief and destroy friendships in their school. It's up to them to fix the glitch!

When the coding club finds that their app has a malicious user, Morgan, Zoey, and Daniel code an update to contend with a mischievous AI llama that’s guiding a not-so-popular kid named Marcus to cause chaos in the school.

Annoying little siblings, chaotic pranks, and more abound as they race to repair the glitchy app—and their own friendships—in their school before the damage is irreversible.

About the Author

Deirdre Langeland has been a children’s book editor and writer for more than twenty years. As an editor, she has edited award-winning picture books, unique and quirky comics, high-concept middle grade fiction, and in-depth narrative nonfiction. As a writer, she has authored everything from a Curious George picture book to a nonfiction/fantasy mash-up about unicorns. She lives in New York’s Hudson River Valley with her husband and her daughter, who also serves as her contemporary middle school slang consultant.

Sarah Mai is an illustrator, cartoonist, and writer based in Minneapolis, Minnesota. She has a degree in English Literature from the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities where she developed a passion for graphic novels. Her main inspiration is bold color, strong, playful shape making, street style, and people watching.

Praise for The Cool Code 2.0: The Switch Glitch

“Mai’s bright, full-color art is reminiscent of Raina Telgemeier’s and should instantly appeal to her fans.”  — Kirkus Reviews

“A humorous exploration of cracking the middle school social code for anyone craving more personified snarky llamas in their lives.” — School Library Journal

This sequel explores even further the social implications of “being cool” in middle school. With the characters learning from their mistakes in a realistic way, readers will be rooting for the three coding wizards as they try to rescue the underclassman from getting himself expelled. A good glimpse into this age bracket. VERDICT Give this graphic novel to fans of Kayla Miller. A first purchase for middle school libraries. — School Library Journal